top of page

Breaking Down / Sucumbindo

All alone It was always there, you see And even on my own It was always standing next to me I can see it coming from the edge of the room Creeping in the streetlight Holding my hand in the pale gloom Can you see it coming now?

Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down again Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down

All alone, even when I was a child I've always known there was something to be frightened of I can see it coming from the edge of the room Creeping in the streetlight Holding my hand in the pale gloom Can you see it coming now?

Ah-ah, ah-ah I think I'm breaking down again Ah-ah, ah-ah I think I'm breaking down

All alone, on the edge of sleep My old familiar friend Comes and lies down next to me And I can see it coming from the edge of the room Smiling in the streetlight Even with my eyes shut tight I still see it coming now

Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down again Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down again Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down again Ah-ah, ah-ah, I think I'm breaking down

TRADUÇÃO

Totalmente sozinha Estava sempre lá, sabe? E mesmo solitária Estava sempre em pé ao meu lado Posso ver algo vindo do canto do quarto Rastejando na luz da rua Segurando a minha mão na penumbra pálida Você consegue ver que está chegando agora?

Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo de novo Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo

Totalmente sozinha, mesmo quando eu era criança Sempre soube que havia algo a temer Consigo ver algo vindo do canto do quarto Rastejando na luz da rua Segurando a minha mão na penumbra pálida Você consegue ver que está chegando agora?

Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo de novo Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo

Totalmente sozinha, quase dormindo Minha velha e conhecida amiga Vem e deita ao meu lado E consigo ver algo vindo do canto do quarto Sorrindo na luz da rua Mesmo com os olhos bem fechados Consigo ver que está chegando agora

Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo de novo Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo de novo Ah-ah, ah-ah, acho que estou sucumbindo

* A ideia inicial era colocar a criatura que assombra o eu-lírico no masculino, mas em uma entrevista, Florence alega que a inspiração para esta letra foram os medos infantis que, na vida adulta, podem se manifestar na forma de depressão. Por isso, optei por “minha velha amiga”, no feminino. Fonte: http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/music_blog/2011/10/on-eve-of-ceremonials-florence-welch-talks-about-breaking-down.html


bottom of page