top of page

Only If For a Night* / Só Por Uma Noite

And I had a dream About my old school And she was there all pink and gold and glittering I threw my arms around her legs Came to weeping (came to weeping) Came to weeping (came to weeping)

And I heard your voice As clear as day And you told me I should concentrate It was all so strange And so surreal That a ghost should be so practical Only if for a night

And the only solution was to stand and fight And my body was bruised and I was set alight But you came over me like some holy rite And although I was burning, you're the only light Only if for a night

And the grass was so green against my new clothes And I did cartwheels in your honour Dancing on tiptoes My own secret ceremonials Before the service began In the graveyard, doing handstands

And I heard your voice As clear as day And you told me I should concentrate It was all so strange And so surreal That a ghost should be so practical Only if for a night

And the only solution was to stand and fight And my body was bruised and I was set alight But you came over me like some holy rite And although I was burning, you're the only light Only if for a night

My doe, my dear, my darling Tell me what all the sighing's about Tell me what all the sighing's about

And I heard your voice As clear as day And you told me I should concentrate It was all so strange And so surreal That a ghost should be so practical Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Only if for a night (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh)

TRADUÇÃO

E eu tive um sonho Sobre a minha antiga escola E ela estava lá, toda rosa e dourada e deslumbrante Corri para abraçar as pernas dela Cheguei a chorar (cheguei a chorar) Cheguei a chorar (cheguei a chorar)

E ouvi sua voz Clara como o dia E você disse que eu devia me concentrar Foi tudo tão estranho E tão surreal Que um fantasma fosse tão prático Só por uma noite E a única solução era levantar e lutar E meu corpo estava machucado e eu estava em chamas Mas você me visitou como um rito sagrado E embora eu estivesse queimando, você é a única luz Só por uma noite E a grama era tão verde diante das minhas roupas novas E virei estrelas em sua homenagem Dançando na ponta dos pés Em meus cerimoniais secretos particulares Antes de começar o velório No cemitério, plantando bananeiras E ouvi sua voz Clara como o dia E você disse que eu devia me concentrar Foi tudo tão estranho E tão surreal Que um fantasma fosse tão prático Só por uma noite

E a única solução era levantar e lutar E meu corpo estava machucado e eu estava em chamas Mas você me visitou como um rito sagrado E embora eu estivesse queimando, você é a única luz Só por uma noite

Meu amor, minha preciosa, minha querida Diga o motivo de toda essa tristeza Diga o motivo de toda essa tristeza E eu ouvi sua voz Clara como o dia E você disse que eu devia me concentrar Foi tudo tão estranho E tão surreal Que um fantasma fosse tão prático Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite (Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh) Só por uma noite Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, eh, eh)

* Esta música nasceu de um sonho que Florence teve com a avó, há muito falecida, que apareceu para dar conselhos sobre a carreira da neta. Fonte: http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=24496


bottom of page