top of page

The End of Love / O Fim do Amor

I feel nervous in a way that can't be named I dreamt last night of a sign that read ‘the end of love’ and I remember thinking, even in my dreaming it was a good line for a song

We were a family pulled from the flood You tore the floorboards up and let the river rush in not wash away, wash away

We were reaching in the dark that summer in New York and it was so far to fall You said it didn't hurt at all You let it wash away, wash away

In a moment of joy and fury I threw myself from the balcony like my grandmother so many years before me I've always been in love with you Could you tell it from the moment that I met you?

We were a family pulled from the flood you tore the floorboards up and let the river rush in not wash away, wash away

We were reaching in the dark that summer in New York and it was so far to fall oh it didn't hurt at all I let it wash away, wash away

And Joshua came down from the mountain with a tablet in his hands told me that he loved me, yeah and then ghosted me again

We were reaching in the dark that summer in New York and it was so far to fall You said it didn't hurt at all I let it wash away, wash away

We were reaching in the dark that summer in New York and it was so far to fall but it didn't hurt at all I let it wash away, wash away

TRADUÇÃO

Estou nervosa de um jeito que não pode ser nomeado Sonhei ontem com uma placa que dizia “o fim do amor” e me lembro de pensar até no sonho que era uma boa frase pra uma música Somos uma família que sobreviveu à enchente Você arrancou as tábuas do assoalho e deixou o rio correr não varrer tudo, varrer tudo Estávamos tateando no escuro naquele verão em Nova York e era tão alto para cair Você disse que não doeu nada Você deixou varrer tudo, varrer tudo Em um momento de alegria e fúria Eu me joguei da varanda como fez minha avó tantos anos antes de mim Sempre fui apaixonada por você Você conseguiu notar quando eu te conheci? Somos uma família que sobreviveu à enchente você arrancou as tábuas do assoalho e deixou o rio correr não varrer tudo, varrer tudo Estávamos tateando no escuro naquele verão em Nova York e era tão alto para cair oh não doeu nada Eu deixei varrer tudo, varrer tudo E Josué desceu da montanha com uma tábua nas mãos disse que me amava, sim e depois ignorou minhas mensagens de novo

Estávamos tateando no escuro naquele verão em Nova York e era tão alto para cair você disse que não doeu nada Eu deixei varrer tudo, varrer tudo

Estávamos tateando no escuro naquele verão em Nova York e era tão alto para cair mas não doeu nada Eu deixei varrer tudo, varrer tudo

Todos os direitos desta tradução estão reservados para o Site Florence Brasil

bottom of page