top of page

King / Rei

We argue in the kitchen about whether to have children About the world ending and the scale of my ambition And how much is art really worth The very thing you’re best at Is the thing that hurts the most


But you need your rotten heart Your dazzling pain like diamond rings You need to go to war to find material to sing I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King

I need my golden crown of sorrow My bloody sword to swing My empty halls to echo with grand self-mythology I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King

But a woman is a changeling Always shifting shape Just when you think you have it figured out Something new begins to take What strange claws are these Scratching at my skin I never knew my killer would be coming from within I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King

I need my golden crown of sorrow My bloody sword to swing I need my empty halls to echo with grand self-mythology Cos I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King I am no mother, I am no bride, I am King

And I was never as good as I always thought I was But I knew how to dress it up I was never satisfied, it never let me go Just dragged me by my hair and back on with the show


TRADUÇÃO


Nós discutimos na cozinha sobre ter filhos ou não Sobre o fim do mundo e o tamanho da minha ambição E o quanto a arte realmente vale O que você é melhor em fazer É justamente o que dói mais


Mas você precisa do seu coração podre Sua dor que ofusca como anéis de diamante Você precisa ir à guerra para encontrar material para cantar Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei


Eu preciso da minha coroa dourada de mágoas Minha espada sangrenta para brandir Meus salões vazios para ecoar minha mitologização grandiosa Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei


Mas uma mulher é mutável Sempre trocando de forma Quando você pensa que entendeu tudo Algo novo começa a surgir Que garras estranhas são essas Arranhando a minha pele Nunca pensei que meu assassino viria de dentro Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei


Eu preciso da minha coroa dourada de mágoas Minha espada sangrenta para brandir Meus salões vazios para ecoar minha mitologização grandiosa Porque eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei Eu não sou mãe, eu não sou noiva, eu sou Rei


E eu nunca fui tão boa como sempre pensei que fosse Mas eu sabia disfarçar Eu nunca estava satisfeita, isso nunca me abandonou Apenas me arrastei pelos cabelos e continuei com o show


Todos os direitos desta tradução estão reservados para o Site Florence Brasil




bottom of page